Umkhonto we Sizwe! (Spear of the Nation)
Independent Afrikan centered parenting and education

Katiopa Watoto Shule/ online Afrikan social studies program

Kiambote sistas & brothas,
The Katiopa Watoto Shule (Afrikan childrens’ School) online Afrikan social studies program has been established so that Afrikan (black) children from all over the diaspora and the world will be able to meet and learn together, in the comfort of their own home, utilizing the tools of modern technology that we all have available at our disposal. I decided to create this online program because I know that Black children need to have access to more programs whereby they will be able to learn about Our Afrikan cultural traditions, values and social system.

I also realized that these programs are not readily available in many of our communities. I thought about how so many Afrikan centered/ aka Pan-Afrikan/ people in the diaspora are so spread out in different states, separate countries and even continents. Then it crossed my mind that most, if not all of us, have access to the internet at home or in public places.

So when I came to this realization I said to myself “It seems like there is a drastic need for online Afrikan centered programs for Our children, who are spread out ALL over the world. Therefore, those of us who understand this need in Our global community must seek to fully utilize the current technological resources we have & create such a service for Our children” and i decided at that moment to make this my mission this year.

ALL Our children around the world can participate in this program, no matter where they are, as long as they have internet access! This also gives them a rare & unique opportunity to meet and interact with other Black children in parts of the world they have never been to before. How many of Our children have had the chance to speak, see and interact with their brothas and sistas in various parts of the Motherland, Europe, Asia, Central or South America, the Caribbean or Canada?

If we work together to ensure that Our children can participate in this program, all this and more will BE possible. I welcome you all as parents, grandparents, and extended family members of Afrikan children. I encourage you all to participate in this program with your children so that they can learn and study the knowledge, wisdom, integrity and global Afrikan experience of Our people. Akwaaba (Welcome) to you all.

The Katiopa Watoto Shule online program is actually an extension of my homeschooling institute. A major part of the Katiopa Watoto Shule general program is indigenous Afrikan social studies and West Afrikan language class (we mostly study the Twi language of the Akan people of Ghana). I have named my homeschooling institute Katiopa Watoto Shule and this is where the name comes from for the online program as well. I will be incorporating much of what I teach daily into the online classes as well. Just wanted to give you all a brief introduction to the name of this program and why I use it.

The ages of children I seek for this online program are from 4-12 years old. I also speak French so I will be able to teach and interact with children who are French speakers as well. The Afrikan social studies program is set to begin in early June (a final date has not been set as of yet). I am requesting that All interested Afrikan parents register their child/children for the online class(es) by the evening of May 21st, 2012.

Classes will begin as soon as the prospective parents and I are able to meet and discuss a schedule that will suit everyone involved. However, a concrete date has not been set yet due to the fact that I am just beginning to get feedback from parents who are interested in such a program. I will confirm the date of the first class when i begin to get feedback from more parent(s) in the online Afrikan community. My response will be via email or phone to all parents who express serious interest.

Also, the schedule of the parents and children involved will also affect the date of when we will begin our first online class. Please keep in mind that it is not compulsory for parents to register their child/children for a full time program (which is anything in between three weeks and two months). Each parent must notify me upon registration, how many days a week/month they would like their child/children to attend the program.

If you only want your child/children to attend for one or two classes that is fine too. I am available to teach the Katiopa Watoto Shule online program 3-4 days a week , for 1hr15 mins a day each class. At certain times upon request from the parents or children, I will be able to do two hours a class. The online program will begin at 2:00pm est time, during the week and one day of the weekend. Please check the time differences for your area, depending on where you live. I live in eastern Canada and here i am on the eastern time zone. The days of the week I have chosen for the (weekly) online program are as follows:

Day 1- Tuesday: 2:00pm-3:15pm est time

Day 2- Thursday: 2:00-3:15pm est time

Day 3- Saturday: 2:00-3:15pm est time

(Day 4, upon request Only- Wednesday: 2:00-3:15pm est time)


All parents are free to choose the days that suit them best. The cost of each hourly class is $20.00 Canadian dollars (I live in the country of Canada and was born and raised here to Afrikan-Caribbean immigrants) which is payable by paypal. I will provide all parents with information on how to deposit funds in my paypal account upon registration. Payments for each class is due 24 hours in advance before the class begins. If your child/children are scheduled for 3-4 days a week payment for those days combined is required 24 hours in advance before the first class starts.

If necessary, I can provide parents with my phone number so that they can contact me directly in order to confirm my identity and/or become more acquainted with who I am as a mother, sista and educator. Please email me at yayakentake@gmail.com to receive my contact number or to give me yours. Each child/parent/family will NEED a webcam and microphone in order to fully participate in this class. The online classes will take place at http://www.oovoo.com. I will be teaching each class with my own child in attendance. Please go to http://www.oovoo.com, download it for Free and let me know your username so I can add you to my contacts.

If you have any difficulty with this please do not hesitate to contact me. Oovoo is absolutely free to download, no matter how many times you do it. In order to conduct this program effectively, we will have to connect on oovoo a few times before the first day of class and practice with our webcam and microphones in order to confirm that everything is working properly. When this is done we will know that everything is working fine and we can proceed with the classes.

I would like us to do our first oovoo-test atleast seven days in advance before the first scheduled class. In order to receive information on the full contents of the program, you must register your child/children for a course or for the full program. The Afrikan social studies course outline is forwarded to the parents who express interest in registering their children for the program. Please note that additional courses may be added to the program outline as time goes on.

Please notify me at your earliest convenience if you need any other information or if you have any questions or comments about the Katiopa Watoto Shule online program. Asante sana for your interest in Afrikan centered education for Our children! I look forward to hearing from you all. Wishing you, your children and your family much blessings and prosperity.


Yenge ye zola (peace & love),
Mama Kentake.

4 Responses to “Katiopa Watoto Shule/ online Afrikan social studies program”

  1. My daughter is looking forward when classes start. YEbEhyia.

    • We are also very much looking forward to you and your daughters participation in Our Afrikan social studies online program. Ujima (Collective Work & Responsibility) is finally being realized and i am so proud that we are doing this Together! Ase.

      Sista Kentake.

  2. […] Katiopa Watoto Shule/ online Afrikan social studies program (umkhontowesizwe.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Katiopa Watoto Shule/ online Afrikan social studies program « Umkhonto we Sizwe! (Spear of the Nati…. […]


Karibu!

